Adalet Ağaoğlu
She has carried out various responsibilities at Radio Ankara and TRT. She quitted her job in TRT Radio Department, when the corporate autonomy was seized. In addition to being one of the leading names of Turkish literature with her novels and short stories, the writer is one of the most important names in the field of human rights as well.
Türkiye Vicdani Ret Hareketi
The Movement was born when Tayfun Gonul and Vedat Zencir declared via the Sokak magazine that they rejected the military service, in December 1989 and February 1990 respectively. While being convicted, facing tortures, they organized creative and inspiring events in the streets in order to be heard. For the last 4 years, the European Council Committee of Parliamentarians has been sending warnings to Turkey every six months to have new regulations about the conscientious objection. In 2010, the number of conscientious objectors in Turkey reached 121, including 24 women and 5 visually impaired participants. The Movement received the 2010 International Hrant Dink Award. In the Jury, Conscientious Objection Movement in Turkey will be represented by Ersan Ugur Gor.
Baltasar Garzon Real
At 32, he qualified for one of the openings on the high court in Madrid. During an investigation, evidence soon emerged tying the Spanish security forces to the rightist assassination squads that came to be known as the Grupos Anti-terroristas de Liberación (GAL). In 1998, he issued an international arrest warrant for Chilean junta leader Pinochet, who was in England at the time, for the crimes of torture and assassination of the Spanish citizens. The case served notice to many of the world’s tyrants that their impunity had been circumscribed, and it opened the way to other prosecutions for crimes against humanity in Europe, America and Africa. He filed charges of genocide against Argentine military officers on the disappearance of Spanish citizens during Argentina’s 1976-1983 dictatorship. In 2008, he initiated an investigation on the 114,000 disappearance during the Franco regime in Spain. He received the 2010